top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekait

Spooky Season

Updated: Feb 7, 2020



October 31st, 2018// IT’S HALLOWEEN!


Today is a weird day for me.


This is my first time being away from home for the holidays, and Halloween may seem like a weird and okay holiday to be away from home. But it’s not, it’s definitely one of the holidays I wish I was home for.


Our new tradition (after us kids getting older) we sit and watch Halloween movies and the door bell keeps ringing. I get to see all of the little kids dressed up in their costumes, running up to the front door saying “trick or treat”. They are so excited to receive that little package of M&M’s or skittles, running down to show their parents at the end of the drive way.


Well, today I woke up little early to be to work at Chef Mickey’s by 8 AM. This is my first ever AM shift in Disney, and everyone has been warning me about them, because believe it or not Disney very busy all day, but for a restaurant in Disney, they are slammed in the mornings. Not all parks open right at 7 or 8 AM so everyone goes to get food and heads over to the parks for rope drops. So my friend Sam and I have this AM shift for the first time together and we had no idea what to expect. So we worked 8AM- 3:30PM. I then had to catch my bus for 3:49PM to make it home on time.


When I got home I quickly showered and got ready to head over to EPCOT to meet up with Han’s parents who are in disney for a few days with their friends. I ended up meeting them out for dinner and riding a few rides.

It’s always so nice when they come to visit, it’s a little piece of home. So we ate dinner around the showcase, and after dinner I had to head out around 8PM.


When I got home (of course I was rushing, when am I not rushing), Taylor (suite mate) was doing Kerri’s make up for the night. YES Kerri and I were going to downtown Orlando for the Halloween block party. So after

Kerri was finished I got mine done.


Here is the finished product! Thank you Taylor:)



So now is when the adventure begins. Kerri and I had to get an Uber from Vista to my friend Sams apartment that is right outside of downtown Orlando. It was about an hour drive.


When we got there we met up with her and her friend from home who is also in the DCP. We then got an Uber from there to downtown, which was crazy.


When we arrived I think all of our jaws dropped, it was crazy busy. I had never seen anything like it. The only way I can describe it, I felt like I was in a Halloween horror movie. The streets were closed off and people were shoulder to shoulder, in scary costumes, not sober, walking the streets.


We ended up exploring throughout the night.

I will never forget that night, it was a lot of fun to be out side of the “Disney bubble” for the night.

Kerri and I ended up making it home at about 3 AM/ 4AM.


Now let me remind you that I had my first AM shift that morning so I had gotten up at 5 AM in order to get to the bus on time. So if I had stayed up one more hour to make it to 5AM, I would have been up for a FULL 24 HOURS with NO naps!


That’s what you call a day in the life of a CM!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page