top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekait

Top 10 Favorite Summer Mems



Summer is by far my favorite season.


The sunshine, humidity in the air, all natural, tan, and spending time with friends and family.

I could keep going!


During the winter all I do is look at all of my past summer pictures, it's definitely not healthy seeing all I do is dream of summer.


Here are a few of my favorite things to do,


1. Beach Days

Beach days are by far one of my favorites. There is just something about laying in the sun and just absorbing all of the vitamin D that you can get. Usually I go to Million Dollar beach or the Dog beach in Lake George. Moreau Lake is right by my parents house, so sometimes we go there for the day as well.



2. July 4th

July 4th is always a holiday overlooked I feel. It's just a great day to cookout with your family and friends, roasting s'mores, or spending the day on the lake, then ending your day with fireworks. In the past years I have always gone to our local theme park, The Great Escape. My brother is always performing there, so the family always takes a day trip there.

WELL, this year I worked there! Fourth Fest was my first week as the Marketing Supervisor. So it holds a special place in my heart.



3. MY BIRTHDAY

My birthday is July 8th. Thank goodness for a summer birthday.

This year I went kayaking with my dad. It was so relaxing, seeing my birthday is in the summer I am always doing something outside. We then go to my grandmas for cake and we just socialize with my family. After cake this year, we went to my parents house for a campfire with some of my friends from high school. My birthday is always usually laid back. I love to spend it with my family during the day and at night my friends come together to celebrate.



4. County Fairs

County fairs are like something you see in a movie. Where you ride on fair rides, eat lots of greasy food and take the cutest pictures.

This year the fair holds a very special place in my heart. So as we know my brother works for entertainment at The Great Escape. Yearly, the department goes to the fair for a "team bonding" kind of thing for whoever wants to go. Well, this year Bran asked me to go (seeing I worked there now, and I knew no one). So thank you Bran, I became so close to some of these people. They are the kind of people that I could spend the rest of my life with. This adventure became one of my favorite memories this whole summer. July 24th. It was definitely too short, and I did not take it all in when I should have. If I could go back, I would in a heart beat.



5. SPAC Concerts

Everyone who lives in Upstate New York have been going to SPAC concerts since.... they possibly could. Lawn seats, they are cheap, all of your high school friends are there, if you are not there then everyone would know. The best memories have been made at SPAC.

This year was different. My dad had free INSIDE tickets for Luke Bryan. Luke Bryan, I have probably seen every year he has come. My dad asked me if I wanted to go, which of course I said yes. But we had the best time, drinking and singing.



6. Yankee Games

Hannah and I try and go to a Yankee game once a year. This year we went to celebrate each others birthdays. I bought her ticket for her birthday, and we went a few days after mine. We usually get bleacher seats. They are in the outfield, so they are super cheap. But we got lucky this time, our tickets had access to the Audi Club. We both have never gone in before, so we felt pretty boujee. Suit and Tie was the look (for employees), a huge window view from the outfield, sit down dinner on one side and the other with high tops and a bar. It was amazing!



7. Family Myrtle Vaca

I bet you all are confused on why this isn't a "Family Disney Vaca", yeah me too. But my dads side of the family and my family have been going to Myrtle for years. Its such a relaxing place. We go golfing at Top golf, mini golfing, go-carts, seafood buffets, beach days, Banana boat (I RECOMMEND NOT DOING THIS), Jet Skiing, and pool days. The best is when we go to Barefoot Landing for a shopping trip, and then just sit out on the balcony and gossip while we drink our home made drinks.

P.s. The Banana Boat was the worst experience of my life. If you have never heard of it, its exactly how it sounds. A banana shaped tube pulled by a jet ski in the middle of the ocean..... Imagine salt water flying in your face, while your thighs are gripping so tight to the tube, your hands cramping because you are holding on for DEAR LIFE. It was so horrible, I got off of it looking like I got hit by a car. I could barely walk, my mouth was so dry from inhaling salt water, my hair had so much salt water in it that it was slicked back, I had a huge blister on the inside of my foot so I was bleeding so much, and for some reason I WAS THE ONLY ONE LOOKING THIS WAY!! I went with my cousin and two boys we met at the hotel (crazy I know). Quite the adventure let me tell you. I still have that blister scar, 8 months later.



8. Road trips

Road trips are my go to. If I could I would take one everyday just to adventure new places, make new memories and take lots of pictures.

This year I went to Road Island with my parents and brother. We try and go every year at the end of August for the day. We soak up all the sun, and then get all cleaned up and go walk Newport. Newport is the cobble stoned downtown. Kinda just like the movies. Their are sailboats (you can buy tickets that are not expensive, to go explore), restaurants on the ocean and shops. It is so beautiful.



Towards the end of August I went on a day trip to Six Flags New England (with the friends I went to the fair with). This was another memorable day. We ate greasy Six Flags food, explored the Entertainment back stage with a tour, and rode on many rides.



The last of the summer, was bringing Bran back to college:( This was the road trip I was dreading. We had so much fun, and we grew closer this past summer. It was so hard to just leave everything behind and go back to living our normal lives again.



9. Lavenlair Farm

Something about sitting in a lavender farm looking out at the mountains, smelling the fresh air, and taking lots of pictures, while listening to the bees. If you loved that, then this is the place for you! You can come here just to get away from society for a few hours. They have a small barn where you can buy some goodies after you pick your own lavender bushel. A few of my favorites are the lavender syrup, honey, lip balm, and cookies. All made from fresh lavender off of their farm. I highly recommend a trip here.



10. Mini Golfing

Who doesn't love a good night out with friends or family with a mini golf game? Mini golfing is one of my favorite things to do. It is so great for a date night to break the ice, or just something to do on a summer night.


There are so many more mems I love,

~ Marthas

~ Camping

~ Go-Carts

~ Paddle Boarding

~ Downtown Saratoga Springs

~ Dive Ins

~ Barbecues


If you guys have any more fun summer ideas, please leave a comment or DM me! I am always down for a new summer adventure!!


XOXO,

Kait

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page